Units for Credit

Common Unit Program – Charles Darwin University

Charles Darwin University offers the Common Unit Program. Unless exempted, all students commencing a bachelor's degree, advanced diploma or associate degree have to complete two out of three common units, which include the building of academic literacy. The Common Unit Program has been developed to explicitly incorporate the University’s Graduate Attributes and cater for a highly diverse student population. The program has been included as an example of good practice because:

  • It has been extensively evaluated and externally audited, with audit reports made publicly available on the University website.
  • In 2011 it received an Australian Award for University Teaching for Programs that Enhance Learning.
  • Common Unit coordinators received a Carrick Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning in 2007.

The Common Unit Program addresses English Language Standards 3 and 4.